State of Emergency declared for 10 Oregon counties

The Hooskanadan slide on Highway 101 following the storm that shutdown US 101 at MP 344. (Courtesy Curry County Emergency Services)

Oregon Governor Kate Brown declared a state of emergency in ten Oregon counties Thursday due to severe winter storm conditions. It applies to the following counties: Coos, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Linn, and Marion.

This declaration comes at the request of local officials and is based on the recommendations of the Oregon Office of Emergency Management.

"As our state and local authorities continue to work hard to clear roads, reconnect power, and ensure the safety of the community, this declaration will provide additional resources and the potential for federal highway system funds in the future," said Governor Brown. “I urge all Oregonians to follow the recommendations of local authorities, and avoid travel while ODOT crews work on the roads and restore core services."

Governor Brown's declaration directs OEM to coordinate the deployment of multiple agencies, such as the Oregon Department of Transportation , Oregon State Police, and the Oregon National Guard to support local communities as needed.

OEM will facilitate the access and use of state resources, personnel, and equipment to protect communities, property, and the environment, and aid in the recovery from heavy snow and ice accumulation, high winds, flooding, and landslides. The declaration will also enable ODOT to activate the Federal Highway Administration Emergency Relief Program to help repair transportation systems.

The state of emergency will be in effect for 30 days, unless terminated sooner by the Governor.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off